Seleccionar página

What to know

Once again, Rally de Carapeguá will be the last round of the national rally championship in Paraguay. Most competitors come from a gruelling event, Transchaco Rally, which requires high budgets and often leaves several cars wrecked, the reason why some of the usual participants have not entered this weekend’s commitment.

After the second part of the scrutineering took part this morning in the comfortable Montrex S.A. workshops, the Shakedown started early in the afternoon.

Gustavo Saba (Škoda Fabia) and Diego Domínguez are the stars in the thrilling fight for the top class title, called RC2. While the Škoda Fabia driver gets here with 193 points, his Hyundai rival gets 167 after winning the previous round. Alejandro Galanti (Toyota Etios) is third with 109 points.

Agustín Alonso (Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X) had been crowned in RC2N (175 points). César Martínez Jr. starts on an identical car and has 101 points, just like the third-placed entrant, Sebastián González, who was able to gather 77 points. There is also a new champion in RC2NL, Oscar Napout (Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VIII), best of his group with 114 puntos and followed by Ricardo Escauriza (20).

In RC3, César Cruz (Honda Civic Type R) leads the way with 156 puntos, 35 more tan Jorge Ocampos (Honda Civic Si) and 82 more than Juan Martín Masi (Citroën DS3).

Diego Domínguez Jr. (Peugeot 208 R2) is another of the regular participants who claimed this season’s number 1, in this case in the RC4 class. He gets 210 points against Miguel Bravo’s 130 (Honda Civic Si) and Aarón Lobos’ 92 (Honda Civic Si).

Hugo Cano (Toyota Vitz, 179 points) must fight RC4L honours with Gustavo Benítez (Volkswagen Gol, 147). Diego García (Suzuki Swift) is third with 131 points.

After Rally Transcshaco, 188 points are more than enough for Nicolás Baeza (Volkswagen Gol) to be RC5 champion ahead of Alexander Paniagua (Toyota Etios) and Gustavo Gamarra (Volkswagen Gol), who have 148 and 111 unidades, respectively.

The church in Carapeguá downtown witnessed the start of the event tonight at 8:00.

More details

The Shakedown consisted of three drives through a road from which Domínguez emerged fastest (3m25.2s) with a 0.3s margin over and 4.8s over Galanti. Also with four-wheel-drive cars, Augusto Bestard tooks his Ford Fiesta R5 to fouth position, while César Martínez Jr. was fifth with another Fiesta and José García sixth in a Škoda. Domínguez Jr. was on top of the two-wheel-drive group in his Peugeot 208 R2 (4m03.5s), followed by Miguel Cabral (Honda) and Álvaro Yaluk, whose Citroën crashed an electricity post and was left with massive damage in the left front end.

Place and weather

Carapeguá is a district of 435 km² with approximately 33.500 inhabitants. Most of them live in rural areas. The city is located in the Paraguarí region, about 84 kilometers from Asunción. A small river called Caañabé passes through the town, not far from the Ypoá lake.

It was founded in 1725 by Spaniard governor Martín de Barúa. The city is known like the poyvi capital (poyvi meaning yarn in guaraní language) thanks to the quality in the production of garments such as blankets, covers, ponchos, upholstery and tablecloths, among other creations.

Other resources are farming (sugar cane, corn, cotton, cassava) and cattle raising (cows, sheeps, horses).

Some interesting spots to visit there are the Culture House, the Oñondivepá Artcraft Historical Musem and the Cathedral. Not far from the city, it is possible to find the Acahay hill. Due to its shape, it was formerly thought that it was an extinct form of volcano or the result of a meteorite impact, but it was then proved its crystallization process was too slow to be such a thing.

The forecast tells there could be scattered storms and some rain tomorrow (22°/28°) and that Sunday could be sunnier (22°/31°).


Special Stages: 12 (6 different stages).

Leg 1 distance: 152,40 km (110,50 special stages and 41,90 road sections).

Leg 2 distance: 169,27 km (117,14 special stages and 52,13 road sections).

Total distance: 321,67 km (227,64 special stages and 94,03 road sections).

Standings (after Guairá, Trans-Itapúa, Santaní, Caaguazú, Alto Paraná, Cordillera and Transchaco)

RC2: 1-Gustavo Saba 193, 2-Diego Domínguez 167, 3-Alejandro Galanti 109, 4-Luis Maldonado (h) 50, 5-Miguel Ortega (h) 28, 6-Javier Ugarriza 13.

RC2N: 1-Agustín Alonso 175, 2-César Martínez (h) 101, 3-Sebastián González  77, 4-Blas Zapag 70, 5-Humberto Domínguez 56.

RC2NL: 1-Oscar Napout 114, 2-Ricardo Escauriza 20.

RC3: 1-César Cruz 156, 2-Jorge Ocampos 120, 3-Juan Martín Masi 74, 4-Fabrizio Zaldívar 63.

RC4: 1-Diego Domínguez (h) 210, 2-Miguel Bravo 130, 3-Aarón Lobos 92, 4-Miguel Cabral 89, 5-Jacob Penner 4.

RC4L: 1-Hugo Cano 179, 2-Gustavo Benítez 147, 3-Diego García 131.

RC5: 1-Nicolás Baeza 188, 2-Alexander Paniagua 148, 4-Gustavo Gamarra 111.

Fatal error: Uncaught wfWAFStorageFileException: Unable to save temporary file for atomic writing. in /home/u7034815/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordfence - 2/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php:15 Stack trace: #0 /home/u7034815/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordfence - 2/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php(542): wfWAFStorageFile::atomicFilePutContents('/home/u7034815/...', '<?php exit('Acc...') #1 [internal function]: wfWAFStorageFile->saveConfig() #2 {main} thrown in /home/u7034815/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordfence - 2/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php on line 15